Scottish resort reveals 160 years of historical past

SCOTS historical past from the final 160 years in the past has been found by employees at The Outdated Manor Lodge in Lundin Hyperlinks, Fife.

Operations Supervisor Steven Carleschi revealed that historic paperwork reminiscent of start certificates and newspaper clippings have been found throughout current work on the resort.

The constructing has been below the possession of the Wallace household for the final two years, however was initially constructed as Airthernie Home in 1864 as a house for 2 spinster sisters, to the design of Glasgow architect Campbell Douglas.

An advertisement for the sister hotels in Fife.
A historic commercial for the motels. The Seaside Lodge – Lundin Hyperlinks is now The Outdated Manor Lodge.

The absolutely redecorated lounge will now be named ‘1864’, in honour of the fascinating historical past of the resort that has been just lately unearthed.

The resort has had a protracted historical past, together with because the Fife Kids’s Residence in 1937, the primary of its form in Scotland. It was arrange by Miss Margaret Paxon, whose sister ran the Paxon Nursery in close by Methil.

On the time, the constructing was owned by David Russell of the Tullis Russell paper mill household, who lived within the residence along with his household from 1920 to 1927, after which the constructing was vacant till it grew to become the Kids’s Residence.

It was after World Warfare II the constructing first grew to become a resort, below the title The Seaside Lodge Lundin Hyperlinks, with a sister resort, the Leven Seaside Lodge. The Leven Seaside Lodge was broken by hearth in 1989 and demolished.

Steven Carleschi mentioned: “We got here throughout an previous {photograph} album fashion ebook in a cabinet, and it turned out that it was full of historic paperwork in regards to the historical past of this constructing which had been documented and gathered collectively by the earlier house owners.

“It actually could be very thorough, overlaying the interval from when the constructing was first constructed, to when it grew to become a Kids’s Residence in 1937, to then changing into a Lodge after World Warfare II, and past.

“Our historic ebook incorporates a few authentic ads from the 1960’s selling each motels to the general public – they are surely so fascinating to take a look at. It could seem that Lundin Hyperlinks and Leven have been as widespread then as they’re now.

“Discovering all this info has been implausible, sparking a number of debate and rumour amongst our employees, a lot of whom are native to the realm.

“Anybody who wish to are available and take a look on the ebook, particularly any novice historians, or anybody with a household or employment connection to any of the earlier house owners over the a long time, are greater than welcome.

“We’re going to place it on show and encourage all friends to take a look at it if they want – it truly is an absorbing report of a tremendous constructing and property.”

For additional particulars, please go to www.theoldmanorhotel.co.uk.


Posted

in

by